Northampton Press

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Legislation accomplishments abound in 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection, and honor our military men and women.

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

letters to the editor

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay opening doors

To the Editor:

In recent Whitehall-Coplay Press articles, attention was drawn to the unacceptable form of government practiced the past five years in Coplay. A clarification is needed.

Coplay council for decades had seven council committees. Each council member was a chair of a committee. Committees were unwisely increased to 15 committees during the past three years or so.

Editor's view

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Finding ways to be grateful

On Oct. 3, 1789, President George Washington proclaimed the Day of National Thanksgiving.

"Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits and humbly to implore his protection and favor," Washington is quoted as writing in his proclamation.

IRS warns consumers of Hurricane Sandy scams

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The Internal Revenue Service issued a consumer alert Nov. 9 about possible scams taking place in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

Following major disasters, it's common for scam artists to impersonate charities to get money or private information from well-intentioned taxpayers. Such fraudulent schemes may involve contact by telephone, social media, email or in-person solicitations.

The IRS cautions both hurricane victims and people wishing to make disaster-related charitable donations to avoid scam artists by following these tips:

Attend next Catty council meeting

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Borough of Catasauqua has been in need for some time.

It has been in need of fire, police, fire/police and emergency management stations along with a borough hall. These services are currently housed in divided, substandard and cramped quarters – some even in regular residential garages.

Economic development, downtown revitalization and responsible development of the former FLSmidth site on Front Street are other issues that need resolution as well.

New law establishes Pennsylvania Veterans' Trust Fund

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania is home to more than 900,000 military veterans. Their tremendous service to our nation stands as a point of pride for our commonwealth.

It takes a special person to be a soldier, sailor, Marine, member of the Air Force or a member of the Coast Guard.

How many people would want to or be able to face the threats and uncertainties that our service members have and still do on a daily basis?

editor's view

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Holidays aren't celebrations for everyone

I spent Sunday at a fundraiser for the family of a 2012 Northampton Area High School grad who died recently from brain cancer.

The benefit raised money to help the family of Alec Ferullo, a 2012 Northampton Area High School graduate who died Oct. 8 of brain cancer. His parents had to take unpaid leaves of absence from their jobs in order to care for him during his last few months.

As I watched people buy raffle tickets, baked goods and souvenirs, I couldn't help but think how soon Thanksgiving will be here – and then Christmas and New Year's.

A meatless menu is more than side dishes

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When desserts were being delivered to nearby tables during a recent banquet my husband and I attended, we saw waitresses carrying steaming bowls of cinnamon buns oozing with gooey sauce.

As these tempting goodies reached our table and our tablemates, however, we had to smile when we were handed glass dessert goblets filled with a pretty variety of luscious berries instead of the sweet buns.

We soon figured out why. Apparently we were given the "vegetarian" dessert.

Editor's VIEW

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

For many, Sandy meant living off the grid

After more than six days without power, the popping drone of the generator began to sound as normal as the chirping birds and the occasional passing car I used to hear.

"When are you supposed to get your power back?" I was asked Friday.

"Christmas," I said.

The other person paused briefly as if startled.

"Oh, my word," she said. "You're serious!"

Almost. A sense of humor definitely helped my husband, Sean, and I deal with the circumstances. But beneath the humor lies a grain of truth.