Northampton Press

Saturday, December 14, 2019

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged more than 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.

Editor's View

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

They can knock us down but we return stronger and taller than ever

How fitting it is, following the April 15 Boston Marathon bombings by two brothers with alleged ties to violent Muslim extremists, that the final piece of One World Trade Center, the spire, was scheduled to be lifted in place on Monday.

Unfortunately, high winds and bad weather forced a temporary delay.

Installation of the 408-foot, 800-ton spire began last December with pieces made in New Jersey and Canada.

Another View

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

Many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio this past week, as we followed the Boston Marathon bombings and the apprehension of one suspect and the death of his brother.

These events have caused me to ask of myself how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

Whoever is responsible for creating this havoc in Boston has not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

Kindergarten: ready or not?

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart that I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Keep pill bottles away from children to keep them safe

I watched in disbelief a recent report on The Today Show showing 4-year-old children opening safety caps on various types of medication.

I was not shocked, though, as we experienced the same thing in our own home many years ago.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he pulled a chair over to a kitchen cabinet, climbed up on the counter and found a bottle of vitamins which, in his mind, I suppose, looked like candy.

After a short period of time, my husband found him with the pills in his mouth and the red dye from the pills all over his mouth.