Northampton Press

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

***

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

***

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

***

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website. There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Clarification on supervisors, zoning

To the Editor:

I would like to clarify something that I was told happened at the polls. Supposedly, a candidate said that the board of supervisors allows warehouses to be built in the township for the revenue.

The state law says if a property is zoned for warehouses, that is what can legally be built there. The only thing supervisors can do is to make sure builders meet all the township’s regulations.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local therapy dog leaves behind ‘incredible legacy’

To the Editor:

Our near and dear furry friend Sirius got his therapy dog calling from heaven April 22. There were no viable options to ease all the pain he had internally.

I want to personally thank your Press staff for taking such an interest in my passion: therapy dogs. It is my mission to continue where Sirius left off and educate the Lehigh Valley on what a therapy dog is all about.

Another View

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Exercise your right: Vote on Tuesday

The 2019 municipal primary is May 21. This is a true grassroots election.

Many of the names on the ballot are your neighbors, friends and even relatives.

You, the voters, will decide on the candidates who will move on to the November election to serve as township supervisors and commissioners, borough council members, school board directors, county commissioners and judges. They will serve in office, anywhere from four to 10 years, and make decisions that will directly affect you, your children and your community.

Another View

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

This coming Sunday, May 12, is Mother’s Day.

This is a day for all children, young and not-so-young, all across America to honor the women who gave them love and guidance as they were growing.

According to History.com, celebrations of mothers and motherhood can be traced back to the ancient Greeks and Romans who held festivals to honor the mother goddesses Rhea and Cybele.

Mother’s Day arose in the 1900s due to the efforts of Anna Jarvis.

Her mom, Ann Reeves Jarvis, was a social activist during the Civil War era.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Cards, anyone?

If you are in need of a deck of cards, contact Washington state Sen. Maureen Walsh. She has received hundreds of decks of cards in response to comments she made about nurses April 16.

While debating a bill proposing uninterrupted meal and rest breaks for nurses, as well as further protections against mandatory overtime, Walsh said nurses in Critical Access Hospitals with relatively few patients “probably do get breaks” and “probably play cards for a considerable amount of the day.”

This from a woman whose mother was a registered nurse.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may produce valuable life lessons

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school. A selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

Another View

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer. One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard. Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.