Northampton Press

Saturday, December 14, 2019

Guest View

Thursday, August 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Why focus on the U.S. corn crop?

There has been conversation in the mass media concerning the corn crop and prices.

Many agricultural economists believe commodity supply and demand affect prices.

For generations, farmers have focused on corn as one of the most significant farm commodities in the U.S. Farmers used to follow corn markets primarily because of the crops' value for feeding livestock and people.

Another view

Thursday, July 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Zimmerman verdict sparks debate and action

The jury verdict in the Trayvon Martin case has generated much public comment.

On one end of the spectrum are those who say George Zimmerman should be held legally responsible for the death of Martin.

The other end of the spectrum includes those who say Zimmerman was legally justified in defending himself.

Northampton resident shares cancer story

Thursday, July 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It was a Saturday in early January when Joy, a 45-year-old Northampton resident, found a lump in her right breast.

She shared her story to help readers understand the importance of the Relay for Life and the American Cancer Society programs it funds.

The following Monday, Joy, a single mother of two boys ages 13 and 16, saw her doctor. A mammogram and ultrasound revealed an abnormally shaped lump in her right breast and a suspicious node on her right side.

Harhart to propose bill to protect gratuities from credit card fees

Thursday, July 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

People who are employed in the service industry, especially waiters and waitresses, work hard for the small base pay and tips they rely on for income.

That is why I have authored legislation to ensure they are treated fairly when it comes to those hard-earned tips.

Currently, in Pennsylvania, when customers choose to pay their bill with a credit card, it is common practice for credit card companies to charge business owners a 3- to 4-percent fee per transaction.

Another View

Thursday, July 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Be knowledgeable of what is in food, drink

An article I read recently concerning the Food and Drug Administration's new limits on arsenic in apple juice has only confirmed my belief we should pay closer attention to where our food and drinks originate.

According to the article published July 12 on Foxnews.com, the FDA is changing the amount of arsenic allowed after more than a year of public pressure from consumer groups worried about the contaminant's effect on children.

In an FDA news release published the same day, the agency said it is allowing 10 parts per billion for inorganic arsenic in apple juice.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It's not a sport; it's a disgrace

Sports Illustrated magazine for a while ran a regular feature called "Sport – Not a Sport" in which writers debated whether certain activities, such as cheerleading, ice dancing or synchronized swimming were really sports.

While those examples are certainly debatable, at least they all involve some level of physical proficiency and effort.

But there's one activity that is televised, on ESPN2 no less, every Fourth of July that is most emphatically NOT a sport – the disgusting spectacle called the hot dog eating contest.

Editor's View

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Of course overeating is a sport ... and Italians are the champion chompers

Founding Father Benjamin Franklin, who wrote this chiasmus, "Eat to live, don't live to eat" in "Poor Richard's Almanack" (1732-1758) would probably agree with Julia Swan's sentiments on what she calls "the disgusting spectacle" of hot dog eating contests.

I, however, owing to my heritage, (Yes, I do blame my Italian grandparents, great-grandparents and all the Middle Paleolithic relatives from the Italian Peninsula for my being just a "bit" overweight) don't have such a caustic view of "overeating" as a sport.

Customer beware: You don't know who you will find in the store dressing room

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I was trying on clothes at a local department store recently when I heard a male voice.

Putting my own clothing back on, I opened the stall door to find a young couple discussing clothing the woman was trying on. They were not just near the dressing room. They were well inside it.

"This is a woman's dressing room," I said. "You need to leave."

The man didn't argue but his girlfriend got angry and, when I refused to back down, she called me "crazy" and stormed out saying, "I guess I'll have to go change in the men's room."

Quality of life can make or break a community

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What qualities should Allentown's next police chief possess?

That interesting question recently was put to city residents by Mayor Ed Pawlowski, who will choose a new top cop in the fall.

My husband and I attended the mayor's information-gathering meeting and were disappointed with the relatively sparse turnout.

The attitude of folks who didn't plan to attend seemed to be, as one neighbor put it, "It makes no difference who's in charge. Nothing will change."

I disagree.

Another View

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Summer is the season of Lions

Summer is the season of Lions.

Let me explain.

My father was a dedicated member of the Lower Lehigh Lions and summer, in my memory at least, was the season when the Lions' calendar got in full swing. Bookended by flea market and garage sales in May and September, the summer calendar included my dad's shifts at breakfasts at Macungie Memorial Park and stints at Wheels of Time and Das Awkscht Fescht.

Our home phone number was among those listed to "make reservations or for more information" for various events.