Northampton Press

Monday, February 18, 2019

Another View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles and loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space there is, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Guest View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Routine eye exams by ophthalmologist can save your vision

The Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology reminds Pennsylvania residents a baseline eye disease screening at age 40 is critical to preserving healthy vision.

Early signs of eye disease and changes in vision may start to occur around age 40, and even those with perfect vision should be screened at that time.

People with eye disease symptoms or risk factors should also be screened.

Use the power that dwells within

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?

Letter to the editor

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Coplay election heating up

To the Editor:

I believe the May Democratic Primary Election in Coplay will stand out in Lehigh County as the most exciting. We have a total of nine Coplay council candidates. Eight are on the Democratic ballot and one is on the Republican ballot. Four council seats are open.

We currently have two appointed councilmen, both of whom are running. Our mayor also was appointed. He and a challenger are on the ballot for the May Democratic primary.

Editor's View

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pope Francis, the embodiment of power and humility

As I finished the pages for this week's Parkland Press early Tuesday morning, I had one eye and ear cast in the direction of the television.

Pope Francis was being installed as the new Bishop of Rome; the spiritual leader of some 1.2 billion Roman Catholics worldwide and the head of state of the Vatican.

Such power and authority could easily turn the head of many a man.

Former Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Argentina, however, does not appear to be one of those men.

A life lived for others is a life worth living

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

What's important in this journey we are all on called life?

Is it our job titles and the power and respect attached to our professions, careers and employment pursuits that make a difference?

Or, are the salaries we receive, the cars we drive and the apartments and homes we live in factors in determining our worth and our happiness?

Recently a friend's father passed away. He was, in more ways than one, a mentor of mine and a father figure.

Guest View

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Addresses not exempt when seeking 911 response logs

While the legal battle over release of public-school employee home addresses has continued to rage in Pennsylvania's appellate courts, another aspect of the home address debate is settled.

In Czech v. County of York, a unanimous panel of the Commonwealth Court clarified the parameters of the Right-to-Know Law's exemption for 911 records and information, holding that the law does not exempt address information from "time response logs."

Sometimes the best response is no response

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

As often as possible, I stop what I am doing on a Saturday evening to watch the latest episode of "Too Cute" on the Animal Planet channel.

Last weekend I managed to catch the show. I took a break from loading the dishwasher, flopped into the recliner and began viewing a program about three sets of kittens.

Baby animals are indeed too cute as they get into all sorts of mischief and predicaments while exploring their environment and pursuing the quest for independence.

Guest View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by STEPHEN GRAY WALLACE M.S. Special to The Press in Opinion

The fierce urgency of now: A nation's need to protect its youth

The alcohol-fueled alleged serial rape of a 16-year-old Ohio girl by two of her similarly impaired classmates – not to mention the drunken videotaped commentary of others – points yet again to the imperative that adult America renews its commitment to address as a true national community those issues that most threaten the health, safety and forward development of youth.

It is a priority that carries with it, in Dr. Martin Luther King's words, "the fierce urgency of now."