Northampton Press

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Editor's View: I really do want to find 'the world's smallest turkey'

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

"A&P has provided me with the world's smallest turkey ... "

– From the song "Christmas Wrapping" by the Waitresses

Those familiar with the song quoted above no doubt take away from it the romantic story of how the singer and a special guy run into each other at the supermarket Christmas Eve. Although the attraction was mutual, they had trouble connecting all year until Christmas magic brought them together.

That's nice. But, frankly, I'm more concerned about the small size of her turkey.

You see, I really do want the world's smallest turkey for Thanksgiving.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

One day and 150 years ago ...

Consider this.

In the time the American Dental Association recommends everyone should brush to achieve maximum dental health, Abraham Lincoln managed to dedicate the first cemetery for soldiers of war in the United States, acknowledge the loss and devastation of a three-day battle on fields and hills not far from here, do a bit of damage control to his own image and redefine the United States of America.

That is less time than it takes to make most microwave popcorn.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Retailers not to blame for loss of Thanksgiving holiday – shoppers are

November has always been a time of the year I've enjoyed.

Autumn is officially here and the leaves have fallen off the trees. I can't say I enjoy raking them, but they're nice to look at.

The temperature has changed and it's colder outside, but I love wearing layers. There's nothing quite as comforting as being bundled in my pea coat and having a scarf tied around my neck.

And then there's Thanksgiving.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, November 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Monday, Nov. 25, 1963

It was one of the rare times I had ever seen my father cry.

We sat at the dinner table that Sunday in November 1963 as the cortege moved from the White House to the Capitol to that unforgettable drum cadence.

Dad excused himself from the table. When he came back, he said he thought we ought to go to Washington the next day for President Kennedy's funeral.

Another view

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

On second thought, it's a good thing

I was somewhat alarmed when I woke up last Wednesday morning and read the election results for the local races covered by the Catasauqua Press.

Voters had let a longtime Catasauqua Borough Councilwoman go.

And in Hanover Township, Lehigh County, not one, but two township council members who had served, uncontested, for many years, were gone.

North Catasauqua voters also ousted two public servants from their borough council.

Was there a conspiracy afoot by political parties to clean house?

Help Santa make calls and write letters

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The American Cancer Society Lehigh Valley office is offering a unique program to help Santa during the holiday season.

The event is a cherished yearly fundraiser that helps both the American Cancer Society and the Relay For Life of Whitehall.

Santa will take a work break 6-8 p.m. Dec. 2-5 to say hello or write a letter to area children, grandchildren, nieces, nephews and any other child who would like to hear from him.

Guest View

Thursday, November 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Why is America exceptional and what does it mean?

When politicians assert American exceptionalism, what do they mean? With an attempt to not infuse politics into an answer, consider the following.

One explanation of American exceptionalism lies in the fact American society is based on specific philosophies and ideals regarding the nature of man and government.

Letter to the editor Outgoing official thanks borough

Thursday, November 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the residents of the Borough of Coplay for their support while I served as Coplay Emergency Management coordinator.

I started in Coplay back in 1993 as deputy coordinator and began my duties in 2000 as coordinator.

We had some incidents in my 20 years, including Hurricane Sandy and the gas problem that took out heat in many homes last winter. Residents were patient through these problems.

I would also like to thank all the public safety officials and borough staff for their cooperation.

Editor's View

Thursday, November 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Voters and political candidates both needed for America's success

By the time you read this, the Nov. 5 election will be over.

Votes will be tallied and new mayors, council members, supervisors, school board members, county commissioners and county executives will have been chosen.

Voters will also have decided on future funding of the Parkland and Salisbury Township libraries.

There could be close races, some write-in votes may still remain to be counted and a recount or two might be requested.

Of course, the winners will not be officially announced for a couple weeks.