Northampton Press

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Family members share wish list

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Usually, my columns have to do with raising children. This topic strikes home quite easily with me from both a personal and a professional perspective.

I spend my days turning research into practical information for everyday family life and my evenings in the laboratory of my own home. More often than not, the family venue supports every last bit of the research findings ... for better or worse.

This month I am going to travel to the opposite end of the spectrum and address an issue facing the older population.

Time evaporates quickly; let's not nudge it along

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A few weeks ago, I ran into a retired couple I had not seen for at least two years.

Residents of Ohio, they try to visit the Lehigh Valley annually for the Bach music festival in Bethlehem.

The husband has roots here, so when he and his wife are in the area they tend relatives' graves and place flowering plants at each family member's tombstone.

As we chatted, they mentioned an eagerly-anticipated upcoming monthlong journey to Norway and Germany, homelands of their ancestors.

Another View

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Small town America is thriving

I grew up in the sleepy canal town of Freemansburg, on the outskirts of Bethlehem.

I have fond memories of my childhood. Many of the children and teenagers knew each other and spent hours on end in the summer playing on the sidewalks, in the streets and in the surrounding small fields.

We spent summer days fishing down at the canal. We would gather together on one another's front porches throughout the day and into the evening, and talk about life and dream about the future.

Our parents knew each of us and they treated us like we were part of their family.

Another View

Thursday, May 30, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Memorial Day should be for more than just honoring the fallen

Usually, when I watch the evening news on television, the broadcast about the day's events do not bother me.

However, news of a tragic event, either nationally or locally, upsets me.

Last week, when I watched a broadcast about a man bragging about brutally murdering British soldier Lee Rigby of the 2nd Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers, on the streets of London, England, I became angry.

The man, covered in blood, waved around a meat clever and knife and bragged about murdering a soldier in broad daylight on a public street.

Guest View

Thursday, May 23, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania's townships continue fight against unfunded mandates

More than 6,500 unfunded mandates have been imposed on Pennsylvania's local governments over the past 30 years.

Township officials, tired of seeing millions of tax dollars wasted every year, came together recently to urge state lawmakers to change the system so that municipalities can put that money to better use, namely to improve roads and other infrastructure.

Editor's View

Thursday, May 23, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Responsible reporting must continue without intervention of the government

Journalists are yet again under attack.

The most recent attack is from the United States Justice Department, which seized cellphone records of Associated Press reporters and editors in the process of investigating what it calls a national security leak.

Associated Press President and Chief Executive Officer Gary Pruitt has called the seizure of records "unconstitutional."

Protect yourself from identity theft or be sorry later

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

If you ask my husband, Facebook will bring about the end of the civilized world as we know it.

While I'm not quite so apocalyptic in my thinking, a recent experience on Facebook really opened my eyes to the value of paying attention to your privacy settings.

As the editor of three local newspapers, the line between work and home is often blurred. Many sources have my office, home and cell numbers. I've written about my life and personal experiences in columns.

Candidates, voters, respect the opposition

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Have we gotten to the point where the opposition has to resort to stealing campaign signs in order to sway the vote?

I am an outsider; I came to visit Coplay from Florida in the midst of this campaign. I know what political mud-slinging is all about. I worked the democratic Presidential campaign as well as local campaigns so I know what can happen when it comes down to the wire!