Northampton Press

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Buying secluded cabin in Maine leads to treasure hunt and duct tape heaven

If you've ever seen the "Red Green Show," then you will have a true understanding of my story.

If you're not familiar with Red Green, you've probably heard of the TV show "Hoarders." If neither show is familiar to you, just look up the lyrics to Arlo Guthrie's "Alice's Restaurant" and pay particular attention to his descriptions of the garbage.

That's kind of how it was when my husband and I bought a cabin in Maine.

Gov. William Scranton Jr.: Passing of another Pennsylvania legend

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Within the last couple of weeks, another former governor of Pennsylvania – Gov. William Scranton Jr. – passed away, marking the second such occurrence in the past few months.

The loss of loved ones is traumatic for remaining family members to whom I offer my deepest and sincere sympathy for their loss.

They, as well as all residents of this commonwealth, should know a greatly engaged Pennsylvanian has completed a lifetime of work and service to his community, this commonwealth, our country and the world.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Charlie, beware of the wrecking ball

Conversation around town is the King George Inn will be demolished to make way for a hotel and additional stores along Hamilton and Cedar Crest boulevards, South Whitehall Township.

The development would incorporate the King George Inn, the Burger King and the Carvel Ice Cream store sites.

South Whitehall Township Manager Jon Hammer confirmed the owner could demolish the building but no permit has been obtained.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

We may be polluting our own water

When people think about sources of water pollution, they may readily identify industry and agriculture as the primary culprits.

We rarely consider that actions we take or practices we follow in our own yards can have a huge impact on the quality of the water we drink, cook with, swim in or boat on.

The fact is, however, our yards can be a major source of water pollution.

So, the next time you're out appreciating home and business landscapes, think about the things we all can do to protect water quality.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

· American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to join in the fight against breast cancer.

Contact Lyndsey Cumello at 610-921-2329 or Lyndsey.cumello@cancer.org.

· America on Wheels, Allentown, has several volunteer needs.

Contact Liz Hahn at 610-432-4200 ext. 10 or fund_development@americaonwheels. org.

· Camelot for Children Inc., Salisbury Township, needs volunteers for Camp Camelot Aug. 12-16 at the JCC Campground.

Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, August 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer questions deadly force, if there is no weapon

To the Editor:

He [Mark Reccek in his "Another View" in the July 24 issue of The Press] states in Pennsylvania you cannot shoot in self-defense unless the assailant has a deadly weapon.

At first glance that sounds logical. Now think of this.

You are 5 foot 5 inches tall and weigh 135 pounds; the assailant is 6 foot 5 inches tall and weighs 235 pounds. You have a legal gun and he doesn't.

Editor's View

Thursday, August 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Educate yourself on the risk factors of cancer

The recent proclamation by Angelina Jolie to have a preventive double mastectomy has opened the conversation about genetic counseling and the BRCA gene.

In an opinion piece written by Jolie for The New York Times in May, Jolie said she carries the BRCA1 gene which increases her risk of breast and ovarian cancer.

"My doctors estimated I had an 87 percent risk of breast cancer and a 50 percent risk of ovarian cancer," Jolie said.

She said her mother died at age 56 of breast cancer and her aunt died just recently of the same disease.

Guest View

Thursday, August 1, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Why focus on the U.S. corn crop?

There has been conversation in the mass media concerning the corn crop and prices.

Many agricultural economists believe commodity supply and demand affect prices.

For generations, farmers have focused on corn as one of the most significant farm commodities in the U.S. Farmers used to follow corn markets primarily because of the crops' value for feeding livestock and people.

Another view

Thursday, July 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Zimmerman verdict sparks debate and action

The jury verdict in the Trayvon Martin case has generated much public comment.

On one end of the spectrum are those who say George Zimmerman should be held legally responsible for the death of Martin.

The other end of the spectrum includes those who say Zimmerman was legally justified in defending himself.

Northampton resident shares cancer story

Thursday, July 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It was a Saturday in early January when Joy, a 45-year-old Northampton resident, found a lump in her right breast.

She shared her story to help readers understand the importance of the Relay for Life and the American Cancer Society programs it funds.

The following Monday, Joy, a single mother of two boys ages 13 and 16, saw her doctor. A mammogram and ultrasound revealed an abnormally shaped lump in her right breast and a suspicious node on her right side.