Northampton Press

Saturday, June 6, 2020

LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS

Thursday, March 27, 2014 by ANN BARTHOLOMEW Special to The Press in Opinion

State legislature's size discussed

Reducing the size of the Pennsylvania State Legislature has been suggested frequently over the years, and two bills, House Bill 1234 and House Bill 1716, are now being considered.

House Bill 1234 would decrease the number of house districts represented to 153 (there are now 203 districts), and maintain the current 50 senate districts.

Municipalities receive funding

Thursday, March 27, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Rep. Julie Harhart, R-183rd, recently announced a total of $190,000 in state funding awarded to three communities in the 183rd Legislative District in Northampton County.

"This grant funding will help some of our local municipalities move forward with projects aimed at improving their local communities," said Harhart. "The funding is the result of casinos located throughout the Commonwealth that contribute money toward regional community improvements. I look forward to seeing these projects move forward."

The grants are as follows:

Fee increases are coming

Thursday, March 27, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

State Representative Daniel McNeill, D-133rd, is warning residents of the impact of driver fee increases as a result of the recent transportation tax package he opposed.

"Beginning April 1, several fees for drivers will increase, some quite dramatically," McNeill said. "Many people are unaware of the extent of these fee increases so I wanted to warn them to help them budget for these higher costs."

According to the state transportation department, some of the more regularly used services to see an increase are:

· A certified driving record will triple from $10 to $30;

House committee to focus on skyrocketing electric rates

Thursday, March 20, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

My offices have been fielding numerous phone calls from customers of competitive electric generation suppliers who have variable rate plans and have recently seen record spikes in their electric bills.

Such large spikes in a customer's electric rates can be shocking; however, it is one of the possibilities when entering into a variable rate contract.

Competitive electric generation suppliers are not public utilities and, although they are required to be licensed by the Public Utility Commission, their rates are not subject to PUC regulation.

Editor's View

Thursday, March 20, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Embrace, don't ban the word 'bossy'

Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, CEO of the Girl Scouts of the USA Anna Maria Chávez and Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg have decided being called "bossy" hurts the feelings of too many young girls and causes them to seek less important roles in society.

These three powerful and successful women, along with the support of entertainer Beyoncé, recently began the "Ban Bossy" campaign to eradicate the use of this "negative" label when it comes to describing the actions of girls in relation to those around them, i.e., classmates and friends.

How old would you like to be?

Thursday, March 20, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

As I celebrated my birthday recently, age became the topic of the moment among family members and friends.

We all laughed when I recalled an elderly neighbor once telling me, "Don't ever get old."

I had a quick reply for her: "So you want me to die young?"

We don't get too many choices. We grow old (at least chronologically) or we leave this earth before we have a chance to experience old age.

I choose getting old. Our golden years may not always be so golden, but it's nice to hang around a bit longer.

Another View

Thursday, March 13, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Stepping into life through good and bad times

Is there an answer to the question of life?

Many of us, at one point in our life, spent time searching for meaning and purpose.

We spent considerable amounts of time pursuing our schooling, the perfect job and our relationships with family and friends.

Some of us may discover meaning and purpose in our jobs, a significant other, a passion or hobby or our faith in a higher being.

Another View

Thursday, March 6, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Rare polio-like disease causing concern for parents on West Coast

A rare polio-like illness has affected as many as 25 children in California since the first case was reported in 2012.

At that time, Sofia Jarvis of Berkeley began experiencing wheezing and difficulty breathing. The 2-year-old spent days in the intensive care unit at Children's Hospital Oakland, according to a USAToday.com article.

According to Dr. Peter T. Ender M.D., of Infectious Disease Associates, Bethlehem, there is much unknown about these 20 or so cases in California because they may not even be the same thing.

Editor's view

Thursday, February 27, 2014 by by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Experts weigh in on the effects of social media on children

A panel of experts gathered for a segment of "Talk With Your Doctor" at Channel 69 WFMZ-TV Feb. 17. The topic for the session was "Media and Children" and the discussion centered on the effects of television, computers, phones, apps and games on children.

The discussion was moderated by St. Luke's University Health Network spokesperson Doug Eberhart and Chief of Pediatrics Dr. Jennifer Janco.

Another View

Thursday, February 20, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Her excellency: The first ladies deserve a day to themselves

Those familiar with the tween show iCarly on Nickelodeon might remember an episode in which first lady Michelle Obama pays the show a visit. The first lady plays herself paying a visit to the iCarly stars Carly Shay, sidekick Sam Puckett and the technical producer Freddie Benson after the trio hack into a military installation to wish Carly's dad, Colonel Shay, a happy birthday. When the always irreverant Sam is mocked for calling Mrs. Obama "your excellency," the first lady responds, "I kind of like it."