Northampton Press

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

School uniforms could be the answer to parents' prayers

If public schools in Pennsylvania were to implement a school uniform requirement, a number of debates would erupt with pros and cons, most likely with parents and students on opposite sides.

When my children were young, I purchased their clothes and shoes at outlets and other discount stores. Those bargains helped an already strained budget which suffered even more at back-to-school time.

Shopping for back-to-school clothes and shoes can cost $500 or more depending on the number of children in the home.

Resident thanks organizer for chairing Properties of Merit

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

This recognition goes to Bill Leiner Jr., not for the best kept property but rather for spearheading a committee that recognizes the citizens of Coplay for their efforts in beautifying and maintaining not only the homes where they dwell but the community we live in. I'm talking about the Properties of Merit program.

It seems when it comes to the people of Coplay, Mr. Leiner's name is associated with everything that says to our citizens, people and the community that his political agenda takes a back seat.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 17, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Government shutdown could be tipping point for country's future

With all due respect to Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Johanna Billings and her concerns regarding Acadia National Park ("Government shutdown hurts in many ways," Oct. 10 edition), the government shutdown began much earlier for families in the Lehigh Valley who have lost their homes to foreclosure over the past four or five years.

The government shutdown will last a lot longer for workers who have been notified by their employers their work hours or even jobs will be cut due to President Barack Obama's not-so-affordable health care.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Government shutdown hurts in many ways

Babies and spoiled brats.

Yep, I'm talking about the members of the United States Congress.

The recent government shutdown is an example of the abysmal failure of our elected officials to behave like responsible adults and work out their differences in a respectable and professional manner.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 municipal election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Your community, your newspaper, your life

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

As newspaper executives struggle over whether the news should be digital first, tablet first, SMS first or print first, readers know exactly what they want their local newspaper to be – community first.

Reading a newspaper is not like reading a novel, a magazine, a history book, poetry, prose or any other type of literature.

Newspapers are not about what has happened in the past, what is happening someplace else or what happens in an author's imagination.

Newspapers are about us.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 municipal election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another view

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Let us now praise famous ... libraries

I am a library geek.

The evidence is clear. Check my wallet and you will find cards for Emmaus Public Library, covered with stickers permitting access to the Allentown Public Library system and "Access Pennsylvania," an online carte-blanche of sorts for libraries throughout the state. I have a card, expired, for Cressman Library at Cedar Crest College and, the prize of the collection, an ACCESS card to the New York Public Library: The Research Libraries.

Another View

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

College: Getting the most for your money

Millions of college students around the country are now experiencing their first time away from home with total freedom.

These students are taking on not only the challenge of achieving a strong grade point average, but also facing hurdles their parents did not have, especially the cost of the education they are acquiring.

In a recent speech at the University of Buffalo, President Barack Obama addressed the soaring cost of a college diploma while acknowledging the importance of higher education.