Northampton Press

Thursday, May 28, 2020

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 24, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 20 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, the Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 17 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

letter to the editor Coplay Town Watch begins new program

Thursday, April 24, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

To the editor,

The dedicated Coplay Town Watch members have spent nearly 19 years serving Coplay in a variety of ways.

Originally named the Coplay Crime Watch, founded in 1995, in 2004 by-laws were adopted and changed their name from the Coplay Crime Watch to the Coplay Town Watch.

Several senior citizens in reaction to the name change at that time left the CTW and created the Coplay Neighborhood Crime Watch.

Another View

Thursday, April 24, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Violence solves nothing

Do you feel safe in America?

Truly safe?

Does the parochial setting of the Lehigh Valley provide you, your family and your friends with the necessary measures to ensure your safety and well-being

Last week, Liberty High School in Bethlehem was locked down due to a 911 call regarding three armed men who allegedly entered the school. The incident hit home for many living in Bethlehem and the Lehigh Valley.

Fortunately, Liberty wasted no time in springing into action.

What is your back story?

Thursday, April 24, 2014 by BY BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

My back is getting old, and the problems it is causing have become, quite literally, a pain in the backside.

Until pain manifests itself, most people probably don't give much thought to their backs and the role this body part plays in every aspect of our lives.

For months I ignored the lower back aches and severe cramps down my legs whenever I am upright. Only bending over or sitting seem to diminish the pain.

When Ibuprofen and Tylenol, even taken together, failed to provide relief, I knew it was time to do some research and visit a doctor.

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 17, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 20 primary election, the Whitehall-Coplay Press, the Northampton Press and the Catasauqua Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 17 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Pa. German Easter proverbs, sayings

Thursday, April 17, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

The Pennsylvania Germans had many beliefs and superstitions for holidays, seasons and various subjects.

The following are some proverbs regarding the Easter season for Good Friday and Maundy Thursday.

Maundy Thursday

·Uff der Griedunnerschdaag muss mer eppes Grienes esse, schunscht grickt mer der Gretz im sellem Yaahr.

Unless you eat something green on Maundy Thursday, you will get the itch.

·Mer grickt ken Leis odder Fiewer wammer eppes Grienes esst uff der Griedunnerschdaag.

Another View

Thursday, April 17, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

On this Earth Day, help save the planet for future generations

Taking care of Mother Earth is the best way we can insure our children and future generations will have a clean environment and plenty of water and electricity.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Americans generated about 251 million tons of trash and recycled and composted almost 87 million tons of this material in 2012.

This is equivalent to a 34.5-percent recycling rate.

The United States and Canada are two of the highest water consumers per person in the world, the Green Planet for Kids website states.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 10, 2014 by BY DEB GALBRAITH in Opinion

Working to stop crime, drugs and gangs in Pennsylvania

Community members, school districts, local police enforcement officials, drug and alcohol professionals and politicians are working together to stop the growing problem of drugs, gangs and crime in Pennsylvania.

Earlier this month, law enforcement, community members and school district officials came together in Topton after the death of three young adults who died from heroin overdoses. They hope to create action groups, working with the school district and local law enforcement for the safety of the students and to get heroin off the streets.