Northampton Press

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, December 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Experience true meaning of Christmas: Ride the North Pole Express

Christmas is a time for miracles and magic and, for 85 special Dream Come True of the Lehigh Valley children, the non-profit foundation created a magical world this past Saturday in Kempton.

The youngsters were treated to a train ride aboard the North Pole Express, also known as the Wanamaker, Kempton and Southern Railroad, to visit Santa and Mrs. Claus at the North Pole, aka the Kempton Community Center.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The power of faith, prayer and religious freedom

Three topics to be avoided during any holiday gathering include religion, politics and money. Politics is a definite topic to stay away from – sure to inflate blood pressure in many individuals.

Money is another – salaries, spending, inflation, etc. However, talking about and walking the walk of personal faith seems to be an equally touchy subject.

On Facebook, friends ask for prayers when loved ones are undergoing surgery, have experienced a death in the family or are in need of a miracle.

Create a lasting tribute to departed loved ones

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

When the father of a church member died last month, the family honored his memory in a wonderful way.

His children decided to give away his belongings rather than try to sell anything.

"You only get pennies on the dollar at a yard sale," his daughter said, explaining why the family did not want to expend time and effort on a sale.

"Besides," she continued, "so many of his neighbors are low income and can use the furniture. That would have made my dad happy."

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Here are some tips for better photos and how to submit them to The Press

I remember once, taking a photo of someone pulling her kids along on a sled on a snowy afternoon. The photo was published in the local paper where I worked at the time. I got a really nice card from the woman thanking me for the "forever memory."

Readers are always invited to work with The Press to make their own forever memories. Let us know in advance about your event and, if we can, we will get a photographer there.

Editor's View: I really do want to find 'the world's smallest turkey'

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

"A&P has provided me with the world's smallest turkey ... "

– From the song "Christmas Wrapping" by the Waitresses

Those familiar with the song quoted above no doubt take away from it the romantic story of how the singer and a special guy run into each other at the supermarket Christmas Eve. Although the attraction was mutual, they had trouble connecting all year until Christmas magic brought them together.

That's nice. But, frankly, I'm more concerned about the small size of her turkey.

You see, I really do want the world's smallest turkey for Thanksgiving.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

One day and 150 years ago ...

Consider this.

In the time the American Dental Association recommends everyone should brush to achieve maximum dental health, Abraham Lincoln managed to dedicate the first cemetery for soldiers of war in the United States, acknowledge the loss and devastation of a three-day battle on fields and hills not far from here, do a bit of damage control to his own image and redefine the United States of America.

That is less time than it takes to make most microwave popcorn.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Retailers not to blame for loss of Thanksgiving holiday – shoppers are

November has always been a time of the year I've enjoyed.

Autumn is officially here and the leaves have fallen off the trees. I can't say I enjoy raking them, but they're nice to look at.

The temperature has changed and it's colder outside, but I love wearing layers. There's nothing quite as comforting as being bundled in my pea coat and having a scarf tied around my neck.

And then there's Thanksgiving.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Thursday, November 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Monday, Nov. 25, 1963

It was one of the rare times I had ever seen my father cry.

We sat at the dinner table that Sunday in November 1963 as the cortege moved from the White House to the Capitol to that unforgettable drum cadence.

Dad excused himself from the table. When he came back, he said he thought we ought to go to Washington the next day for President Kennedy's funeral.