Northampton Press

Sunday, July 12, 2020

Another View

Thursday, August 7, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

It's time for peace in the Middle East

The world is a dangerous place. In recent times, it's become even more dangerous.

If commercial airlines are not crashing or disappearing, man is harming his fellow man in war.

Lately, the question in the international community is whether a peace deal can be brokered between the Israelis and Palestinians.

Such a deal nearly became a reality last week.

However, the possibility was crushed just two hours after the agreement was brokered when Palestinian militants allegedly killed two Israeli soldiers and captured one.

Grow your own therapy

Thursday, July 31, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

A number of friends and family members are in therapy this summer.

Actually, so am I.

No, we're not spending our time lying on a psychologist's couch. Our venue of choice to reduce stress is the dirt.

Whether one pursues gardening for relaxation or for an opportunity to get some fresh air and moderate exercise, working in a garden is a gentle, satisfying form of natural therapy with both physical and emotional benefits.

Another View

Thursday, July 31, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting illegal immigrant children should be America's main focus

The influx of unaccompanied minors crossing into America from Mexico has Congress, President Barack Obama and the presidents of Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras at an impasse on how to deal with the overwhelming flow of these illegal immigrants into the United States.

With the increase in violence, drug trafficking and the rape of young girls, many Central American parents are opting to pay "coyotes," human smugglers, to send their minor children across the border to protect them.

Editor's View

Thursday, July 24, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

'The violence will never stop; that's all they know.'

"The violence will never stop; that's all they know." Those are the words of my late grandmother who often talked about the constant fighting in various countries.

She said for boys in other countries, fighting is a way of life. This was all they knew.

My grandmother was also always concerned when boys were born because, in her time, it was an old wives' tale there would be a war when the boys were old enough to be drafted.

She was very concerned when my two sons were born.

Relay for life surpasses goal

Thursday, July 24, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

A lot of people helped make this year's Relay for Life a success.

I want to express my sincere appreciation for The Press newspapers, who allowed me to write a column once a month for the last two years, which kept our market area informed of what we were doing.

I also thank the Whitehall-Coplay School District, including the school board, Superintendant John W. Corby, Rich Legath, Michele Abraham and the entire maintenance crew who helped provide our location and facilities at the football stadium June 20-21 and for hosting us the last 11 years.

That's what friends are for

Thursday, July 17, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Recently I met someone who might be best described as a friendship activist.

Megan Goldman, then in fifth grade at Willow Lane Elementary School, Lower Macungie Township, spearheaded the effort to install a buddy bench at the school. Goldman wrote a letter to her principal suggesting Willow Lane needed a buddy bench after the fifth grader read about a similar effort in an assigned reading for a class.

Guest View

Thursday, July 10, 2014 by The Press in Opinion

Hobby Lobby: An example of what does not matter

In the case of Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Stores Inc., Hobby Lobby asserted from its religious perspective, anything that prevented the fertilized egg from growing into a baby – by definition – was in the same category as abortion.

Under the Affordable Care Act, employers are required to provide a base level of care within the health care insurance they provide to their employees. Birth control is included in that base level coverage.

Under the Food and Drug Administration rules, there are 20 different types of contraception methods.