Northampton Press

Saturday, February 22, 2020

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Concerns over East Allen warehouses

To the Editor:

When the Rockefeller Group proposed building warehouses on Weaversville Road in East Allen Township, the supervisors listened to the residents, weighed all the pros and cons and voted not to change the zoning to allow the warehouses to be built.

Now, the Rockefeller Group, who has all the money, is suing East Allen Township to allow these warehouses.

I guess they think they know what is best for our township — or is it the residents who have lived here for 50-plus years and have traveled these roads who know what is best?

Another View

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Choose your patriotism wisely

I am the summer intern for the Lehigh Valley Press weekly newspapers. I am 19 years old and entering my sophomore year at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This summer has been an exciting one.

Obtaining my driver’s license, securing an internship and seeing my brother graduate from an Ivy League school, which has not only caused him stress for four grueling academic years, but physical pain as his studies at Cornell University once forced an ulcer to burn through the wall of his stomach and allow digestive juices to leak into his abdominal cavity.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

An appreciation of The Chicago Defender, a community newspaper

In the era of the dominance of digital media, the vitality and viability of print media can often seem to be teetering.

In its examination of print media in the United States, database company Statista projected the revenue in the newspaper publishing industry would decrease to $27 billion by 2020, down from $33.59 billion in 2011.

News junkies and others who want to stay informed are likely to check in with favorite news websites or television news outlets rather than wait for the morning or next edition of their newspaper of choice to get the latest information.

Another View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘The Eagle has landed’: Man walks on moon 50 years ago

“That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

These are the famous words spoken by Neil Armstrong, an American astronaut who was the first person to walk on the moon. Armstrong was also an engineer, a pilot and a college professor.

After the Apollo 11 mission, Armstrong said his microphone didn’t pick up the word “a,” so what he actually said was, “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

Another View

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Women’s soccer team focused on scoring goals, equality

United States women’s national soccer team, USWNT, earned a record fourth title win when they faced off against the Netherlands, the European champions, July 7 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. This 2-0 win marks the culmination of the immense skill and hard work demonstrated by these athletes over the years.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State government should fund our schools

To the Editor:

Well, it came in the mail today, July 3. The school tax bill with its annual increase or as I see it, the annual picking of the taxpayer pockets by our public school district.

The best school district quote I found in this year’s budget process is, “We have kept all of our programs. We have kept all of our employees. We have expanded programs for students.”

Editor’s View

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s celebrate!

“When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

Another View

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are cellphones safe for our health?

Everywhere one goes, young children to adults can be seen using cellphones.

After seeing a WFMZ 69 News report about researchers in Queensland, Australia, finding evidence of horn-like bone spurs growing at the base of the skulls of young adults, I searched the Internet to learn more.

I found a June 20 Fortune article titled “Cell Phones Might Be Causing Horns to Grow on Young People’s Skulls: Study” by Chris Morris.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

With deepfakes on the rise, how will the 2020 election be affected?

“And I will close by reiterating the central allegation of our indictments, that there were multiple, systematic efforts to interfere in our election,” Special Council Robert Mueller said in his now history-making report. “And that allegation deserves the attention of every American.”

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

New Cedarbrook facilities could be built on Allentown State Hospital land

To the Editor:

State Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th, has introduced a bill to demolish the buildings on the 195-acre property at the Allentown State Hospital in East Allentown.

Lehigh County commissioners over the years have built a $50 million jail, enlarged the county courthouse and built new administration offices. For the past four years, the commissioners have authorized various studies on the Cedarbrook Senior Care and Rehabilitation facility, including a report co-authored by the retired CEO of Phoebe Home on Cedarbrook.