Northampton Press

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Nourishing the family

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61. That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more. Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kids bullying kids must stop

My heart sunk recently when I read a couple of news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first news story dated Nov. 30 and titled “Aurora 10-year-old takes her own life after suspected bullying incident caught on camera” by Ashley Michels from Fox 31 in Denver, Colo., Ashawnty Davis, a fifth-grader, hung herself after she was allegedly seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app Musical.ly.

Letters to the editor

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Restoration of common-sense balance is needed in tax code

To the Editor:

I have been a small-business entrepreneur starting two successful, small manufacturing companies in the Lehigh Valley. During the 25-plus years of creating start-ups, taxes were never at the top of my list of concerns. I did not start nor grow my businesses based on decisions related to the tax code.

Do I like paying taxes? Not really. But here is the real truth: The successful growth or failure of a small business does not rely on the tax code. Business relies on one word: demand.

EDITOR’S view

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering those we lost during this holiday season

Many of our readers have been following the Guest Views written by former editorial assistant and freelance writer/photographer Mark Reccek documenting his battle with cancer.

Although a very private person, Mark felt it was important to share his journey with our readers and the many friends he had acquired through his work at The Press.

On Dec. 17, Mark lost the fight.

Mark was well educated, with multiple degrees, one being a law degree. He was studying to take the bar exam to become a lawyer to represent those who could not represent themselves.

Coplay Borough clears away tree stump

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

And what to my wondering eyes did appear, a stump grinder attached to an undercover reindeer — and, of course, Santa’s little helper to guide the stump away.

My tree was taken down by the strong storm in July 2015, which at first was thought to be a tornado by the National Weather Service. I was lucky. My tree was uprooted and laid on my front lawn for more than a week. By then, the borough decided they had to hire a subcontractor because they were way behind on the storm cleanup by at least nine trees.

Thanks for Operation Santa visit

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our appreciation goes out to Whitehall Township Fire Department Station 36 and its volunteers for hosting Santa, Mrs. Claus and their elf helper Dec. 17 for Operation Santa in Fullerton.

Although our son, Benjamin, 9 months old, will not remember this special visit, for us, as parents, the annual Christmas event is something we’ll treasure ourselves.

This is such a nice tradition the township’s fire department continues to do every year.

Hunger initiative adds free Sunday community meal

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

On Jan. 19, 2016, the Whitehall-Coplay Hunger Initiative began offering free community meals for our Whitehall and Coplay hunger-insecure residents. On that first day, which was sunny but brutally windy, we had 13 residents enjoy a hot meal. These dinners move monthly to different locations.

Over the last two years, these meals have grown to feed an average of 115 people on the third Tuesday of every month. We always seem to have enough food to serve everyone, but the meals are guaranteed for the first 100 people.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Casting a not-so-wide network

Last week, when headlines announced devastating news such as sexual harassment and misconduct scandals, wildfires in California, ongoing problems in North Korea, train crashes in Germany and other events, a front-page story in The Wall Street Journal offered readers a moment for surprise: details of the Rolodex of one-percenter David Rockefeller.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Leiner supporter: ‘It’s time for change’

To the Editor:

I have known Bill Leiner Jr. all my life. As children, we played together. As teenagers, we raised a little hell together. And, as adults, we worked at Bethlehem Steel together.

For as long as I can remember, Bill has always had a passion for politics. More importantly, he has always had a compassion for the little guy — the working man. And, as the son of a 95-year-old Pearl Harbor survivor, I know Bill would never do anything to dishonor his father.

Another view

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, make it a good one

On Oct. 13 during the Values Voter Summit in Washington, President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually. At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends’ gatherings, and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”