Northampton Press

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight like mythology’s winged horse

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.

Another View

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Every day should be devoted to healthy nutrition

For months, I have been looking for a good nutritional plan/diet I can follow that would help me change my poor eating habits; however, choosing one has not been easy.

Even after months of researching different plans, I am more confused by the nutritional information I have read on the Internet.

As I still have not found one that fits all my specific nutritional goals, I opted to begin eating healthy, nutritious foods in March.

And, what better timing, as March is National Nutrition Month.

Fighting Hunger: Pantry, food bank here to help battle food insecurity in area

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

Whitehall Food Pantry and Coplay Recreation & Welfare Association Food Bank provide much-needed food for our residents. As you have heard me say many times before, no one in this country, as rich as we are, should ever be hungry. This really bothers me and so many others.

Food insecurity in America was almost wiped out due to provisions President Lyndon Johnson’s administration put into law back in the 1960s. Sadly, 50 years later, we still have food insecurity. I’ll get off my soapbox and save this story for another day.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ responsibility is to seek the truth for the public

Freedom of the press should never be taken for granted.

As we celebrate Sunshine Week, a national initiative designed to educate the public about the importance of open government and the dangers of excessive and unnecessary secrecy, this is the opportunity to remind us all that truth-seeking journalism is alive and well and should be celebrated.

Journalists, as the eyes and ears of the public, rely on public access laws to keep you informed, and great reporting begins with government transparency.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?’

I don’t want an automatic pet feeder.

I wouldn’t mind making engraved items at home or receiving a luxury car rental coupon.

“Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?” was in my email today. I don’t want to be fat. Do they think I’m fat?

Yes, I want to sleep better, and I don’t need a levitating moon lamp.

And yes, today, I received several messages on how to safely remove earwax.

Did I ask for these messages? Absolutely not.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The cost of winter weather

On March 3, forecasters anticipated snow in various accumulations in a storm expected to last mid-afternoon to early morning March 4. Predictions of inclement weather prompted Northwestern Lehigh School District to cancel the afternoon performance of the spring musical “The Addams Family” at the high school March 3 and offer details about securing ticket refunds via a special bulletin on the district website.

Earlier snow days in the academic year led organizers to postpone the “Mr. Emmaus” talent show at Emmaus High School at least twice as of March 3.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Sewer problems need attention

To the Editor:

I am a rate payer in the [Coplay Whitehall Sewer Authority] system. My son and I have been before the CWSA board several times trying to get our sewer problems resolved, but we have not had any substantive results.

My son spent the month of August 2018 dealing with sewage backflows in his basement. On the last occasion, CWSA was called to respond to a severe sewer backflow after a heavy rainstorm. Personnel on site confirmed a sewer backflow. The backflow stopped shortly after the heavy rain stopped.

Another View

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Step into spring with a goal of reducing your credit card debt

When was the last time you used a credit card to make a purchase? Was it last week? A couple days ago? Or was it even sometime today?

According to cnbc.com’s Jan. 23, 2018, article titled “Credit card debt hits a record high; it’s time to pay off your debt,” Jessica Dickler writes, “The average American has a credit card balance of $6,375, up nearly 3 percent from [2017], according to Experian’s annual study on the state of credit and debt in America.

On the Homefront: Marriage requires work, communication, outside resources

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by DENISE CONTINENZA in Opinion

A funny tale pops up when people talk about marriage and anniversaries: A couple was celebrating their golden anniversary by renewing their vows. At the conclusion of the little ceremony, their pastor congratulated them on 50 years of marriage and posed to them one question: “At any point along the way, did divorce ever cross your minds?”

The husband responded with a quick “No, never.” The wife nodded in agreement and said, “Divorce, no. Murder, yes.”

And such is the stuff that marriages are made of.

Fighting Hunger: How will you help those in your community?

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by SHARI NOCTOR in Opinion

I was thinking about what I was going to write this month. Sometimes, it takes a few days to think of something meaningful.

I turned my National Wildlife Federation calendar that I received in the mail to February, and there was a quote from Jane Goodall: “The most important thing, as I am constantly saying, is to think about small ways in which we can make a difference — every day.”

This was a sign to me that this is what I am supposed to write about this month.