Northampton Press

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State government should fund our schools

To the Editor:

Well, it came in the mail today, July 3. The school tax bill with its annual increase or as I see it, the annual picking of the taxpayer pockets by our public school district.

The best school district quote I found in this year’s budget process is, “We have kept all of our programs. We have kept all of our employees. We have expanded programs for students.”

Editor’s View

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s celebrate!

“When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

Another View

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are cellphones safe for our health?

Everywhere one goes, young children to adults can be seen using cellphones.

After seeing a WFMZ 69 News report about researchers in Queensland, Australia, finding evidence of horn-like bone spurs growing at the base of the skulls of young adults, I searched the Internet to learn more.

I found a June 20 Fortune article titled “Cell Phones Might Be Causing Horns to Grow on Young People’s Skulls: Study” by Chris Morris.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

With deepfakes on the rise, how will the 2020 election be affected?

“And I will close by reiterating the central allegation of our indictments, that there were multiple, systematic efforts to interfere in our election,” Special Council Robert Mueller said in his now history-making report. “And that allegation deserves the attention of every American.”

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

New Cedarbrook facilities could be built on Allentown State Hospital land

To the Editor:

State Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th, has introduced a bill to demolish the buildings on the 195-acre property at the Allentown State Hospital in East Allentown.

Lehigh County commissioners over the years have built a $50 million jail, enlarged the county courthouse and built new administration offices. For the past four years, the commissioners have authorized various studies on the Cedarbrook Senior Care and Rehabilitation facility, including a report co-authored by the retired CEO of Phoebe Home on Cedarbrook.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Distracted driving is dangerous driving’

In 2018, the police blotter published in the April 18 edition of the East Penn Press included an accident report from Pennsylvania State Police, Fogelsville, of a man getting hurt when his vehicle drifted off the road, hit a ditch and two trees, overturned and struck a pickup parked in a driveway.

The reason?

According to police, the driver took his eyes off the road while trying to retrieve his cellphone from the floor where he dropped it while pulling it from a cup holder in the center console.

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

***

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

***

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

***

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website. There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Clarification on supervisors, zoning

To the Editor:

I would like to clarify something that I was told happened at the polls. Supposedly, a candidate said that the board of supervisors allows warehouses to be built in the township for the revenue.

The state law says if a property is zoned for warehouses, that is what can legally be built there. The only thing supervisors can do is to make sure builders meet all the township’s regulations.