Northampton Press

Thursday, April 9, 2020

ANOTHER VIEW

Monday, December 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Bringing back civility one door at time

A workday morning and things were not going well so far.

Leaving home later than planned. No time for breakfast. Traffic to work heavier than expected.

And the gas gauge was closer to E than F.

In a hurry, I was distracted, mentally calculating if I would be on time, when the door of Wawa, Cedar Crest Boulevard, South Whitehall Township, miraculously stood open.

A tall man, bundled up against an unexpectedly cold late fall morning, held the door wide.

I probably stumbled a little as I stammered my startled thanks.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

No place for holiday dinner

To the Editor:

The Catasauqua Area Lions Club will not be holding its annual holiday dinner for the elderly and indigent this year.

St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Catasauqua, the location where the meal was held, closed forever and is being converted into a Muslim mosque.

Its fellowship hall was the only venue in town suitable to hold the event.

Muslims do not celebrate Christmas, so the new owners of the former church are not interested in allowing the hall to be used for holding the meal.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Call to decry Methodist bishop

To the Editor:

• Percent of Americans 70 years or older who are Bible-believing Christians — 65 percent

• Percent of Americans 35 years or younger who are Bible-believing Christians — 4 percent

• Percent of bishops in the Northern District for the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference of the United Methodist Church who are Bible-believing Christians — zero percent

The bishop publicly took a position against Jesus’ definition of sacred Christian marriage and supported one that was against what Jesus taught.

Another View

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Womanikin to the rescue

I hope I am never in a situation when I would need cardiopulmonary resuscitation. But if I ever am, I also hope any individuals around me do not hesitate to perform CPR.

In a Dec. 7 NPR article titled “Meet the Womanikin — the breasted vest working to close the CPR gender gap,” Rachel Treisman writes, “Research shows that bystanders are less likely to perform CPR on women than men, and experts say superficial anatomical differences may lead people to assume chest compression must be performed differently on men and women, which is not true.”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, December 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are those Black Friday, Cyber Monday deals still available?

The date was Dec. 2, a Monday — and a particularly busy day for me at work.

I stayed focused on my to-do list, so I could head out the door on time. It was Cyber Monday, and I had a mission.

I rushed home from the office, opened my laptop and systematically attacked my family’s Christmas lists, finishing the orders before anyone else got home that afternoon. What a sense of accomplishment at having gotten such great deals!

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Missing Thanksgiving service

To the Editor:

I was very sad to learn there would be no Catasauqua community ecumenical Thanksgiving service held this year.

Suffering from the recent losses of both St. Paul’s Evangelical Lutheran Church and New Bethany (formerly Grace) Methodist Church, I was hoping our town’s residents would get to hear the good news preached jointly by our remaining protestant faith leaders at the annual get-together of congregations.

It is a Thanksgiving tradition I hope is not lost and that this year’s void is a one-time occurrence not to be repeated.

Robert Zakos Jr.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Committee awards scholarship

To the Editor:

“The future depends on what you do today.”

— Mahatma Gandhi

Over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, the Coplay Scholarship Fund Committee completed a small act to fulfill Gandhi’s quote. We awarded a $500 scholarship to a hardworking Coplay youngster.

The recipient is a nursing student at Cedar Crest College, Allentown. She was a three-year volunteer at Coplay Fire Department as a firefighter.

Another view

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘And now for something completely different’

On Dec. 5, 1974, audiences said goodbye to Monty Python’s “Flying Circus” as the final episode aired on the British Broadcasting Corporation network. The popular and, at times, controversial show originally aired Oct. 5, 1969, making this year its 50th anniversary.

The group Monty Python was formed from the creative minds of Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam. Gilliam was the only American in the group of British actors and writers, and he contributed the unique and recognizable animations that accompanied the show.

Editor’s View

Tuesday, November 26, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A time for saying thank you

Thanksgiving is traditionally a time for family and friends to gather around the table and catch up on events from the past year — new babies, new loves, new jobs, graduations and marriages.

They also fondly recall and share favorite stories of loved ones who have moved on and are no longer able to be with them on this special day.

Families give thanks for all their blessings and share a meal while renewing connections with those who may have traveled from afar.