Northampton Press

Monday, February 24, 2020

Another View

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let this week’s Great American Smokeout be your day to begin a healthier lifestyle

Cigarette smokers, have you ever thought of quitting smoking, even for just one day?

Well, this Thursday, Nov. 21, is your chance to join thousands of other smokers around the country who are also attempting to quit smoking during the Great American Smokeout.

The American Cancer Society’s Great American Smokeout challenges individuals to quit smoking for 24 hours.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Meeting your childhood idol

Do you have a childhood idol? Someone you would like to meet?

My sister, Donna, has a childhood idol — Gene London, who was the host of the children’s show “Cartoon Corners” or “The Gene London Show.” It was based out of Philadelphia and was on WCAU-TV Channel 10 from 1959 to 1977.

During his show, London would tell stories and use a large drawing pad to illustrate key scenes and characters.

Then there was the theme song:

“Come right on in to the General Store,

We have licorice, gumdrops and sourballs;

Anything that you’re hankering for,

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘It was 20 years ago today...’

Last week, a co-worker read this quote aloud to me from the screen of his smartphone.

“Twenty years ago, the Internet was an escape from the real world. Today, the real world is an escape from the Internet.”

I am not sure, but I might have nodded in agreement.

In 1999, the Internet was akin to a frontier. A check of headlines from that year reveals a news article titled “AOL plans high-speed access.”

Another View

Wednesday, October 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Try these different options for trick-or-treaters with allergies

“Teal is the new orange.”

That’s what the cover photo says on Teal Pumpkin Project’s Facebook page.

It’s Halloweentime, and although many of The Press’ coverage areas had trick-or-treat night a few days ago, some boroughs and townships hold the annual Halloween event Oct. 31. If you haven’t yet purchased your goodies to give out to community children, you might want to add some nonfood items, too, if you don’t already have them.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s crunch time: Educate yourself on candidates’ viewpoints

Voter turnout in 2018 was up in every county across the state compared to the last midterm election, increasing from 43 percent in 2014 to 58 percent last year, according to a Department of State analysis by Keystone Crossroads data.

The numbers in Lehigh and Northampton counties were just under that average.

In Lehigh County, 126,844 ballots were cast. Registered voters totaled 232,880. Voter turnout: 54.47 percent

Northampton County logged 116,860 ballots and 209,313 registered voters. Voter turnout: 55.83 percent

Another View

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let them work

The Supreme Court heard a few landmark cases for the LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) community Oct. 8. Two of the cases dealt with alleged discrimination against gay employees. The third involved a transgender employee.

The first two cases involve the late Donald Zarda, an employee of a sky-diving company, and Gerald Bostock, a child welfare services coordinator, who were both terminated from their jobs allegedly after being identified as gay. Zarda made a reference regarding his sexual orientation to a client. Bostock joined a gay recreational softball league.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Budget blunders and the GOP

For the second consecutive year, Republicans on the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners are saying we don’t need a tax increase. But Lehigh County just borrowed $76 million. We have countless bridges still “waiting” to be fixed. We have no recovery center in a county plagued with addiction. We have employees who are underpaid and a population of seniors and children in need who are underserved.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Farewell to a Lehigh Township landmark

To the Editor:

The demolition last month of the two-and-a-half-story Cherryville Hotel, built circa 1767, I’m sure, hardly raised an eyebrow. This was a largely forgotten piece of Lehigh Township history.

For most of its life, the Cherryville Hotel served as the social and commercial center of the township.

In the building’s final function, it housed the Betty Seidel Gift Shop (1949-2001), whose clientele included stars of stage and screen to most presidential first ladies from Grace Coolidge to Pat Nixon.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week

I cannot think of a better week than this to emphasize the need for volunteer firefighters in Pennsylvania — especially in the communities in which we live.

National Fire Prevention Week, celebrated this year Oct. 6-12, was established to commemorate the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, in which more than 250 people died, some 100,000 were left homeless and more than 17,400 buildings burned.

The fire began Oct. 8 when, according to legend, Mrs. Catherine O’Leary’s cow kicked over an oil lamp. The blaze continued well into the next day.