Northampton Press

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey: ‘The perpetrators of these murders are cowards’

“The mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton are the latest, horrific examples of the violent scourge that is gripping America.

“The perpetrators of these murders are cowards.

“We must do more to keep guns out of the hands of psychopaths.

“While no law will end mass shootings entirely, it’s time for Congress to act to help keep our communities safer.

“We should start by passing bipartisan proposals such as my legislation with Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., to expand background checks to all commercial firearm sales.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Pa. Gov. Tom Wolf: ‘We can and must take action’

“Frances and I are mourning an especially horrific 24 hours of gun violence in America. We’re praying for the victims of El Paso and Dayton and two young women shot in Philadelphia last night.

“Many ills contribute to this rising violence. We can and must take action.

“We can ban assault weapons and institute stricter background checks. We can make communities safer. We can target white nationalism and promote tolerance. We can invest in mental health care and help those struggling.

“We cannot accept this violence as normal.

“We must act.”

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Take a minute to hold the line on robocalls

It’s Sunday afternoon, and my phone has already rung a handful of times.

It could be Microsoft, alerting me that my software license has expired.

Or PECO, suggesting I stay on the line to talk to a representative about lowering my energy bill.

Or a credit card company, stressing that my credit is fine but I might be able to lower my interest rate.

Or the federal government, advising me that I owe income taxes and a warrant has been issued for my arrest.

It’s maddening, right?

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Concerns over East Allen warehouses

To the Editor:

When the Rockefeller Group proposed building warehouses on Weaversville Road in East Allen Township, the supervisors listened to the residents, weighed all the pros and cons and voted not to change the zoning to allow the warehouses to be built.

Now, the Rockefeller Group, who has all the money, is suing East Allen Township to allow these warehouses.

I guess they think they know what is best for our township — or is it the residents who have lived here for 50-plus years and have traveled these roads who know what is best?

Another View

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Choose your patriotism wisely

I am the summer intern for the Lehigh Valley Press weekly newspapers. I am 19 years old and entering my sophomore year at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This summer has been an exciting one.

Obtaining my driver’s license, securing an internship and seeing my brother graduate from an Ivy League school, which has not only caused him stress for four grueling academic years, but physical pain as his studies at Cornell University once forced an ulcer to burn through the wall of his stomach and allow digestive juices to leak into his abdominal cavity.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

An appreciation of The Chicago Defender, a community newspaper

In the era of the dominance of digital media, the vitality and viability of print media can often seem to be teetering.

In its examination of print media in the United States, database company Statista projected the revenue in the newspaper publishing industry would decrease to $27 billion by 2020, down from $33.59 billion in 2011.

News junkies and others who want to stay informed are likely to check in with favorite news websites or television news outlets rather than wait for the morning or next edition of their newspaper of choice to get the latest information.

Another View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘The Eagle has landed’: Man walks on moon 50 years ago

“That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

These are the famous words spoken by Neil Armstrong, an American astronaut who was the first person to walk on the moon. Armstrong was also an engineer, a pilot and a college professor.

After the Apollo 11 mission, Armstrong said his microphone didn’t pick up the word “a,” so what he actually said was, “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

Another View

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Women’s soccer team focused on scoring goals, equality

United States women’s national soccer team, USWNT, earned a record fourth title win when they faced off against the Netherlands, the European champions, July 7 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup. This 2-0 win marks the culmination of the immense skill and hard work demonstrated by these athletes over the years.