Northampton Press

Friday, February 23, 2018

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Toomey’s response ‘cowardly’

To the Editor:

Another day, another opportunity for Sen. Toomey to show us his true colors.

In response to President Trump’s blatantly racist remarks about immigrants from Africa and Haiti, Sen. Toomey produced yet another cowardly and spineless response.

Rather than outright condemn President Trump’s remarks, as anyone with some integrity would do, Sen. Toomey writes how he “hopes” the president will retract the statements “attributed to him” about countries of which “he was accused of describing disparagingly.”

Another view

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Feminism and the ‘glass ceiling’

On Jan. 10, 1878, the amendment granting women the right to vote was first proposed. This right wasn’t permitted for women until the passing of the 19th Amendment Aug. 18, 1920. I know there is a lengthy process for such changes, but 42 years seems excessive.

It’s worth noting Merriam-Webster’s 2017 word of the year is “feminism.”

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year’s wish for 2018

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror; this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

***

Nourishing the family

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61. That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more. Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kids bullying kids must stop

My heart sunk recently when I read a couple of news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first news story dated Nov. 30 and titled “Aurora 10-year-old takes her own life after suspected bullying incident caught on camera” by Ashley Michels from Fox 31 in Denver, Colo., Ashawnty Davis, a fifth-grader, hung herself after she was allegedly seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app Musical.ly.

Letters to the editor

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Restoration of common-sense balance is needed in tax code

To the Editor:

I have been a small-business entrepreneur starting two successful, small manufacturing companies in the Lehigh Valley. During the 25-plus years of creating start-ups, taxes were never at the top of my list of concerns. I did not start nor grow my businesses based on decisions related to the tax code.

Do I like paying taxes? Not really. But here is the real truth: The successful growth or failure of a small business does not rely on the tax code. Business relies on one word: demand.

EDITOR’S view

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering those we lost during this holiday season

Many of our readers have been following the Guest Views written by former editorial assistant and freelance writer/photographer Mark Reccek documenting his battle with cancer.

Although a very private person, Mark felt it was important to share his journey with our readers and the many friends he had acquired through his work at The Press.

On Dec. 17, Mark lost the fight.

Mark was well educated, with multiple degrees, one being a law degree. He was studying to take the bar exam to become a lawyer to represent those who could not represent themselves.

Coplay Borough clears away tree stump

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

And what to my wondering eyes did appear, a stump grinder attached to an undercover reindeer — and, of course, Santa’s little helper to guide the stump away.

My tree was taken down by the strong storm in July 2015, which at first was thought to be a tornado by the National Weather Service. I was lucky. My tree was uprooted and laid on my front lawn for more than a week. By then, the borough decided they had to hire a subcontractor because they were way behind on the storm cleanup by at least nine trees.

Thanks for Operation Santa visit

Wednesday, December 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our appreciation goes out to Whitehall Township Fire Department Station 36 and its volunteers for hosting Santa, Mrs. Claus and their elf helper Dec. 17 for Operation Santa in Fullerton.

Although our son, Benjamin, 9 months old, will not remember this special visit, for us, as parents, the annual Christmas event is something we’ll treasure ourselves.

This is such a nice tradition the township’s fire department continues to do every year.