Northampton Press

Monday, August 19, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping mass shootings is everyone’s responsibility

Once again, Americans are grieving and on edge in the wake of the recent mass shootings in El Paso, Texas, and Dayton, Ohio.

According to media reports, on the morning of Aug. 3, Patrick Wood Crusius, 21, allegedly drove 650 miles from his home in Allen, Texas, to an El Paso Walmart, where he killed 22 people and injured 24 others.

Less than 24 hours later, Connor Stephen Betts, 24, of Bellbrook, Ohio, allegedly killed nine people, including his 22-year-old sister, Megan, and injured 27 others in a historical district in Dayton, before he was killed by police.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Retention ponds may cause problems

To the Editor:

Well, it seems our little country townships have become a magnet for warehouses. Everybody and their brother are looking to build along our two-lane major highways and our cow paths with absolutely no regard to the residents who live here. So now, we are looking at major traffic problems, noise (beep-beep-beep), bright lights, maintenance of our roads and bridges ($$), only to name a few.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Pat Toomey: ‘The perpetrators of these murders are cowards’

“The mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton are the latest, horrific examples of the violent scourge that is gripping America.

“The perpetrators of these murders are cowards.

“We must do more to keep guns out of the hands of psychopaths.

“While no law will end mass shootings entirely, it’s time for Congress to act to help keep our communities safer.

“We should start by passing bipartisan proposals such as my legislation with Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., to expand background checks to all commercial firearm sales.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Pa. Gov. Tom Wolf: ‘We can and must take action’

“Frances and I are mourning an especially horrific 24 hours of gun violence in America. We’re praying for the victims of El Paso and Dayton and two young women shot in Philadelphia last night.

“Many ills contribute to this rising violence. We can and must take action.

“We can ban assault weapons and institute stricter background checks. We can make communities safer. We can target white nationalism and promote tolerance. We can invest in mental health care and help those struggling.

“We cannot accept this violence as normal.

“We must act.”

Guest View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

U.S. Sen. Bob Casey: ‘Enough’

“Enough. We don’t have to live like this. Politicians who refuse to take action to reduce gun violence are complicit in this carnage. If we’re going to truly confront this uniquely American problem, we have to speak uncomfortable truths. Over and over again, domestic terrorists use high powered, military-style assault weapons to kill our children and our families. There are a whole range of steps that must be taken. Congress’s first priority must be passing universal background checks, limiting the size of magazines and banning military-style assault weapons, among other measures.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Take a minute to hold the line on robocalls

It’s Sunday afternoon, and my phone has already rung a handful of times.

It could be Microsoft, alerting me that my software license has expired.

Or PECO, suggesting I stay on the line to talk to a representative about lowering my energy bill.

Or a credit card company, stressing that my credit is fine but I might be able to lower my interest rate.

Or the federal government, advising me that I owe income taxes and a warrant has been issued for my arrest.

It’s maddening, right?

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Concerns over East Allen warehouses

To the Editor:

When the Rockefeller Group proposed building warehouses on Weaversville Road in East Allen Township, the supervisors listened to the residents, weighed all the pros and cons and voted not to change the zoning to allow the warehouses to be built.

Now, the Rockefeller Group, who has all the money, is suing East Allen Township to allow these warehouses.

I guess they think they know what is best for our township — or is it the residents who have lived here for 50-plus years and have traveled these roads who know what is best?

Another View

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Choose your patriotism wisely

I am the summer intern for the Lehigh Valley Press weekly newspapers. I am 19 years old and entering my sophomore year at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This summer has been an exciting one.

Obtaining my driver’s license, securing an internship and seeing my brother graduate from an Ivy League school, which has not only caused him stress for four grueling academic years, but physical pain as his studies at Cornell University once forced an ulcer to burn through the wall of his stomach and allow digestive juices to leak into his abdominal cavity.