Northampton Press

Friday, February 21, 2020

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘American Dirt’ — a tale of controversy

“American Dirt” is the latest controversy sweeping the nation.

As if we don’t have enough controversy.

This controversy is about a new novel written by Jeanine Cummins and published by Flatiron Books.

This is a piece of fiction.

The story is about Lydia Quizano Pérez, who lives in Acapulco, Mexico, with her husband, a journalist, and their 8-year-old son. She runs a bookstore.

As the drug cartels take over the city, Lydia’s husband writes a tell-all profile of the newest drug cartel leader.

Another View

Wednesday, February 12, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Can a ‘new species of life’ help with a very human problem?

Early this year, a buzz was emanating from Las Vegas having little to do with high-voltage light displays, dancers dressed in crystal-bedazzled costumes or shiny quarters spilling from slot machines.

NEON debuted at CES 2020, the annual global consumer electronics show held in January. NEON, funded by a lab in the Samsung technology behemoth, is described as an “artificial human” on its webpage, neon.life, and by tech industry watcher C/NET as “a new species of life from humans,” according to the vision of NEON CEO Pranav Mistry.

Fighting Hunger: Meeting set to discuss vision

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by SHARI NOCTOR WHITEHALL-COPLAY HUNGER INITIATIVE PRESIDENT in Opinion

Hunger faces many residents, including children, working people and seniors, every day in the Lehigh Valley. One in eight children is food insecure.

The American Community Survey for 2017 (last one issued) from the census shows Whitehall Township has a 14.3-percent resident poverty level and Coplay Borough has a 7.9-percent level. Lehigh County was at 13.3 percent, and the national average was 13.1 percent.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Thank you for relocating the borough nativity scene

To the Editor:

I’m so thankful Coplay Borough decided to continue to display the nativity scene. I’m also grateful that St. Peter Roman Catholic Church provided the space for this beautiful display.

As Linus said to Charlie Brown, “That’s what Christmas is all about.”

God bless America, and God bless the little town of Coplay, the “1 square mile of God’s little masterpiece”!

Melody Faisetty

Whitehall

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Desperately seeking honest people

Last month, my husband bought a new vehicle. We decided to sell the truck he had been driving on a daily basis as well as his beloved 1980 Jeep CJ5 Renegade, which he restored and has cared for more than 30 years.

We posted ads on both letgo and Craigs-list, listing the basic info — make, model, year and asking price.

Another view

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Women never stopped being great

Are you a poor, lonely, sad, single woman having a hard time finding the right man to take care of you? Have you forgotten how to be a woman? Have no fear, the men of the manosphere are here to save you and re-educate you in how to be a “proper” woman.

Don’t miss The 22 Convention: Make Women Great Again, planned for May 1-3 in Orlando, Fla. At this convention, the roster of all-male speakers promises to “help you dramatically improve your life as a woman and total femininity.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Images ....

Born in the 1950s, I have lived in or through seven decades as we enter this new year.

Never did I consider the year 2020. Graduation dates — from high school, from college — were the milestones to be reached.

Maybe it’s the symmetry of the numerals — 20 and 20 — that has led to this journey through mental imagery.

I remember being escorted single file to the lowest level of my elementary school and told to face the concrete wall outside the boiler room.

Another View

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Seeking mental health care should not come with a stigma attached

Everyone, from time to time, experiences emotional ups and downs caused by events in his or her life or from more severe clinical mental health conditions.

Many individuals suffer in silence and do not seek help from mental health care professionals for fear of being judged by family, friends or co-workers.

Oprah recently discussed mental health issues with singer Lady Gaga during the first of several interviews in Oprah’s “2020 Vision: Your Life in Focus” cross-country tour.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, December 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

We can’t ignore global warming, not with Greta Thunberg leading the way

When my children were younger, a favorite 1996 movie was “Alaska,” a story about two children who searched for their missing father in the mountains of Alaska. Along the way, the two learn valuable lessons and meet a baby polar bear on the run from poachers. My children loved the adventures of the baby polar bear. My youngest son had a stuffed polar bear we affectionately named “Cubby” from the movie.

So should we be concerned about the images we see of the starving polar bears in Alaska losing their homes?