Northampton Press

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are cellphones safe for our health?

Everywhere one goes, young children to adults can be seen using cellphones.

After seeing a WFMZ 69 News report about researchers in Queensland, Australia, finding evidence of horn-like bone spurs growing at the base of the skulls of young adults, I searched the Internet to learn more.

I found a June 20 Fortune article titled “Cell Phones Might Be Causing Horns to Grow on Young People’s Skulls: Study” by Chris Morris.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

With deepfakes on the rise, how will the 2020 election be affected?

“And I will close by reiterating the central allegation of our indictments, that there were multiple, systematic efforts to interfere in our election,” Special Council Robert Mueller said in his now history-making report. “And that allegation deserves the attention of every American.”

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

New Cedarbrook facilities could be built on Allentown State Hospital land

To the Editor:

State Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th, has introduced a bill to demolish the buildings on the 195-acre property at the Allentown State Hospital in East Allentown.

Lehigh County commissioners over the years have built a $50 million jail, enlarged the county courthouse and built new administration offices. For the past four years, the commissioners have authorized various studies on the Cedarbrook Senior Care and Rehabilitation facility, including a report co-authored by the retired CEO of Phoebe Home on Cedarbrook.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, June 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Distracted driving is dangerous driving’

In 2018, the police blotter published in the April 18 edition of the East Penn Press included an accident report from Pennsylvania State Police, Fogelsville, of a man getting hurt when his vehicle drifted off the road, hit a ditch and two trees, overturned and struck a pickup parked in a driveway.

The reason?

According to police, the driver took his eyes off the road while trying to retrieve his cellphone from the floor where he dropped it while pulling it from a cup holder in the center console.

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

***

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

***

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

***

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website. There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Clarification on supervisors, zoning

To the Editor:

I would like to clarify something that I was told happened at the polls. Supposedly, a candidate said that the board of supervisors allows warehouses to be built in the township for the revenue.

The state law says if a property is zoned for warehouses, that is what can legally be built there. The only thing supervisors can do is to make sure builders meet all the township’s regulations.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local therapy dog leaves behind ‘incredible legacy’

To the Editor:

Our near and dear furry friend Sirius got his therapy dog calling from heaven April 22. There were no viable options to ease all the pain he had internally.

I want to personally thank your Press staff for taking such an interest in my passion: therapy dogs. It is my mission to continue where Sirius left off and educate the Lehigh Valley on what a therapy dog is all about.

Another View

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.