Northampton Press

Monday, May 25, 2020

Gov. extends stay-at-home order to June 4 for some counties

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Local News

With the April 1 statewide stay-at-home order set to expire midnight May 7, Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf and Secretary of Health Dr. Rachel Levine extended the orders for all counties in red until June 4.

Lehigh and Northampton counties continue to be in the red phase, and the restrictions for the stay-at-home order remain the same.

Wolf and Levine also signed new orders for 24 counties to move to yellow effective 12:01 a.m. May 8.

The yellow phase order applies to these 24 counties: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango and Warren counties.

There are 13 additional counties scheduled to move into the yellow phase May 15. These include Allegheny, Armstrong, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington and Westmoreland counties.

The yellow phase order also addresses the limited reopening of businesses — detailing those businesses previously deemed non-life-sustaining as being permitted to reopen if they follow the safety guidance for staff, customers and facility.