Northampton Press

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Lehigh Twp. sees few changes in board

Thursday, January 15, 2015 by ELSA KERSCHNER in Local News

The Lehigh Township Board of Commissioners voted Jan. 5 to retain Darryl Snover as chairman and Sandy Hopkins as vice chairman of the board.

Secretary-Treasurer Alice Rehrig was authorized to open bank accounts as needed. Rehrig also serves as manager.

Supervisor Cindy Miller objected to her retention, arguing her dual role provides her with too much responsibility, with no division.

Miller also re-emphasized a tax increase was not needed in 2015 since insurance premiums changed.

At the budget adoption meeting, Snover pointed out that the insurance information was not available early enough to be included in budget discussions.

Laura Harrier will serve as zoning officer in 2015. She is also code enforcement officer.

David Backenstoe continues as legal counsel for the board of supervisors and Michael Corriere holds the same position for the planning commission.

Hanover Engineers was retained as the engineering firm.

Janice Buskirk is the sewage enforcement officer with Christopher Whitley as alternate.

Rick Hildebrand is the vacancy board chairman.

Appointments to the boards and commissions include Max Lambenfeld to the municipal authority, Thomas Ball and Michael Cawthray to the planning commission and Kristen Soldridge to the zoning hearing board.

Dennis Hock was not retained to serve on the recreation board. However, Snover said he would continue in the position until a replacement is named. The position will be advertised.

Rehrig and alternate Mary Trexler were appointed representatives to the tax collection committee.

Scott Rehrig was named emergency management coordinator.

Hildebrand continues as fire chief and Roger Spade as fire marshal.

All supervisors were certified to attend the state convention with Miller appointed as the voting delegate.

Keystone Inspection Agency will serve as the alternate building code official.

Meetings will be held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m.

The zoning hearing board will meet the second Thursday as needed.

The planning commission will meet the second Monday at 6 p.m. and the recreation board will meet the third Monday at 7:30 p.m.

In other business, Supervisor Keith Hantz asked if Hanover had begun work on the sketch plan for the maintenance building. Public knowledge reveals the plan has not begun.

Rehrig said she worked on the Capital Improvement Plan after the budget was finished and the supervisors have copies of the final plan.

Hantz asked if recreation board members are aware there will be a change on the board from seven to five members. Members are aware of the change and realize it is necessary because of the difficulty of attracting new members.

The Kopics property has been accepted into the Ag Security Area.

Backenstoe said it involves protection from nuisance suits originating from local farmers. It has no tax implications.

Acquiring $1,800 to fix a traffic light damaged by a truck will no longer be pursued by the board.

The trucking company paid $30,152, which was the total cost, with the exception of $1,800. The amount was withheld because of the age of the traffic light. It would cost at least twice that amount to collect the final cost.

"It's annoying but there is not much you can do about it," Backenstoe said.