Northampton Press

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Balliet remains chairman of Allen board

Thursday, January 15, 2015 by AL RECKER Special to The Press in Local News

Allen Township Board of Supervisors at its Jan. 5 reorganization meeting kept its structure intact, beginning by retaining Paul Balliet as chairman of the five-member board of supervisors.

The board also retained Nick Lalik as Allen Township Fire Company fire chief; Brien Kocher of Hanover Engineering as township engineer; attorney B. Lincoln Treadwell as solicitor; Ilene Eckhart and Walter Diefenderfer as zoning/code enforcement officers; Jeffrey Huff, Jacob A. Schray and Christopher Taylor as sewage enforcement officers; and Gary Krill as emergency management coordinator.

Jim Wilson will represent the township on the First Regional Compost Authority and Jay Hower on the vacancy board.

Five township supervisors will also serve as roadmasters and park superintendents.

Also during the meeting, the board approved reimbursement for use of vehicles authorized by the township at 56.5 cents per mile.

First National Bank of Palmerton was designated depository for the township's general fund, liquid fuels account, municipal waste, escrow account, recreation fund and water and sewer fund.

Also, Morgan Stanley Smith Barney was named trustee for the township pension fund and Beyer-Barber as actuary and advisor.

Eckhart was also retained as township manager and Bruce Frack as board vice chairman. Eckhart also serves as secretary-treasurer.

The board meets 7 p.m. the second Thursday and fourth Tuesday of the month.