Northampton Press

Monday, May 25, 2020


Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Local News

Northampton Regional EMS Paramedic Maria Wescoe was recognized by the Pennsylvania Emergency Health Service Council and received the Dr. George Moerkirk Memorial Outstanding Contribution to EMS Award recently. The award was presented at the Pennsylvania Fire Emergency Services Institute annual awards dinner.

The award is given in memory of George E. Moerkirk, M.D., Past President of PEHSC.

Dr. Moerkirk was instrumental in the development and growth of Pennsylvania's EMS system. He provided EMS education to EMTs and paramedics and was actively involved in clinical care as a medical command physician and facility director. Dr. Moerkirk was known throughout Pennsylvania as the "father of EMS."

Wescoe was also recognized by Pennsylvania State Rep. Julie Harhart (R-183) and Pennsylvania State Senator Lisa Boscola (D-18) for her commitment and dedication to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Wescoe was additionally lauded for her commitment and achievements in statewide, regional or local-level system development or administration, EMS agency development or administration, advancement in clinical care, education/professional development and for her 31 years of commitment to the Northampton Regional EMS.

The Northampton Regional EMS was also presented with The Eastern PA EMS Council Gold Standard of Excellence Recognition award. The award was presented based on the organization exceeding the minimum required state licensing requirements, quality of insurance, compliance with rules and regulations and the number of certifications that are current.

Northampton Regional Emergency Medical Services is a nonprofit emergency medical service provider that provides emergency ambulance services to the communities of Allen Township, Borough of Catasauqua, Hanover Township, Lehigh County, Lehigh Township, Borough of North Catasauqua, Borough of Northampton and Advanced Life Support Services to East Allen Township.